Why is Mutual having me create an account when I already have one?
When you create a Mutual account you do so through one of three methods:
- Your phone number
- Your Apple ID (if on iPhone)
- Your Facebook account (no longer an option for new users, but you may have a preexisting Mutual account connected to Facebook)
These three login methods are independent of each other, so if you use a login method that is different than what your preexisting Mutual account uses you will be prompted to create a new account. This is most likely to happen if you're logged out due to your login token expiring (usually happens every 60-90 days) or if you reinstall the app.
If you accidentally create a new account then we recommend finishing the account creation process, deleting that new account, and then trying to log in with a different login method.
If you cannot find the correct login method for your account, then you can contact us by clicking on the pink chat bubble icon on the bottom right of this page for further guidance. It's possible that your login method is an old phone number, Apple ID, or Facebook that you no longer have access to. In that case, we will have to transfer your account to a new login method.