How do I use Mutual?
We've designed Mutual to be easy to use! After you've created your account, make sure that Mutual has permission to use your location, and start swiping!
One of the main components of Mutual is swiping on profiles. How you swipe will determine what happens next!
If you like someone's profile, then swipe up on them! You can do this by sliding your finger up on their photo or pressing the heart icon while viewing their bio. Nothing will happen if you are the first person to swipe between the two of you. Wait and see if the feeling is Mutual! ;) If the person you swiped up on has already swiped up on you, you will match!
If you don't like someone's profile, swipe down on them. You can do this by sliding your finger down on their photo or pressing the "X" icon while viewing their bio. We do not notify others that you swiped down on them. You can reset your down swipes anytime and review these profiles to give them a second look.
Send a Message with a Swipe Up
With a normal swipe-up, the person you swiped on will only know you liked them if you match. However, you can send a message with a swipe-up, and your potential match will be able to see that message before they swipe on your profile!
To send a message with a swipe-up:
- Tap on the person's main profile photo to pull up their bio.
- Long-press (tap and hold) on one of the bio details or photos you find interesting. This will bring up the option to add a message with your like.
- Type out what you want to say.
- Tap "Send Like"
Undoing a Swipe
If you accidentally swiped the wrong direction on a profile, then don't worry! You can undo your swipe! You will see a circular back arrow in the top right-hand corner of your screen. Just tap on that, view a brief ad, and the profile you just swiped on will return!
If you swipe up on a person's profile and they do the same on your profile, then it's a match! To get started, tap the chat bubble icon on the bottom menu to navigate to your Chat screen. Your Chat screen is where all of your matches are located.
At the top of the Chat screen, you will see a "New Matches" section. Every new match will go here. They will stay in this section until someone makes the first move and sends a message. If nobody sends a message within seven days, the match will expire. Be sure to send a message to any match that you don't want to disappear!
Below the "New Matches" section, you will see your current matches. If you slide your finger to the left on a match you will see three options:
- Report: If your match has violated our Community Standards or Terms of Service, please report them so that we can investigate!
- Unmatch: If you aren't connecting with your match as you'd hoped, you can unmatch them to end the match.
- Favorite: If you like a match and you want it to be easily accessible, then you can favorite it to pin it to the top of your matches.
If no messages are exchanged with a current match for 30 days, then the match will move to your Archived section (the little box icon in the top right of your Chat screen). If you go to your Archived section, you can send an archived match message to revive the match!
To send a message, tap on the desired profile from your Chat screen, and you'll be taken to the messaging section of the app. You are not limited to how many messages you can send. You can also send GIFs using GIPHY. Mutual does not support sending photos at this time. However, if you are a MutualUp subscriber, you can Video Chat and see Read Receipts!